Dylan Di Filippo
Dylan Di FilippoAI journal

Free Gemini: official documentation qualifies the 'Flash-Lite only' claim

Panorama

GoogleApplications

Free Gemini: official documentation qualifies the 'Flash-Lite only' claim

Starting October 9, Google changes model access for personal accounts; the documentation reviewed provides Auto for free accounts.

Gradual rollout

Facts, analysis and limits

Verified facts

  • Google indicates a start of application on October 9 for non-subscription accounts.
  • Current documentation states that Auto sends most of the prompts to Flash-Lite, but can route complex requests to Flash or Pro.
  • If smart selection is disabled, free responses use Flash-Lite.
  • AI Plus subscribers receive their effective date by email.

What changes

Important correction: "limited free access to Flash-Lite" does not exactly describe the current Auto routing.

Practical implication

Check Auto and the models actually available in your account instead of taking over the newsletter title.

Availability

Belgium/EEA: regional scope is not specified in the sources reviewed; check the account, contract and processing region before use.

Limits and uncertainty

The help page does not give a date of publication: date of the event = start of deployment, no publication. OHMO of October 7 is used only to show the initial signal, corrected by the current official source.

Builder

GoogleApplications

Free Gemini: official documentation qualifies the 'Flash-Lite only' claim

Starting October 9, Google changes model access for personal accounts; the documentation reviewed provides Auto for free accounts.

Gradual rollout

Facts, analysis and limits

Verified facts

  • Google indicates a start of application on October 9 for non-subscription accounts.
  • Current documentation states that Auto sends most of the prompts to Flash-Lite, but can route complex requests to Flash or Pro.
  • If smart selection is disabled, free responses use Flash-Lite.
  • AI Plus subscribers receive their effective date by email.

What changes

Important correction: "limited free access to Flash-Lite" does not exactly describe the current Auto routing.

Practical implication

Check Auto and the models actually available in your account instead of taking over the newsletter title.

Availability

Belgium/EEA: regional scope is not specified in the sources reviewed; check the account, contract and processing region before use.

Limits and uncertainty

The help page does not give a date of publication: date of the event = start of deployment, no publication. OHMO of October 7 is used only to show the initial signal, corrected by the current official source.

← Back to weekly archives